MIA Photo Fair 2020

New-Post Photography?

AWARD – I Edition

The Contemporary Photography Award by MIA Photo Fair


For the upcoming 10th edition, MIA Photo Fair is pleased to announce a new initiative aimed at promoting creativity and innovation in the world of contemporary photography. Through this award, open to all authors without any restrictions in theme, age, gender or nationality, the winners will be offered an opportunity to be exhibited at no charge during the 10th edition of MIA Photo Fair,  Milano at an exhibition dedicated to the Award “New-Post Photography?”

The Award “New-Post Photography?” intends to promote new photographic languages capable of reflecting the contemporary world in an innovative way. After the years of experimentation and reflections on the photographic language, that marked the cultural scene in the years Seventies of the last century, a number of new questions arise today: How is the photography changing? Does it indicate the increasing use of the new technology or is it also able to re-read and re-actualize the past by investigating its own history? Is it mainly focused on staged scenes or does it look for the direct reflection of the world? And how does it relate to the dynamic social universe?

The objective of the Award is to make the exhibition “New-Post Photography?” a significant showcase and a sensor capable of capturing and highlighting the changes taking place in the world of contemporary photography. It is aiming at becoming a cultural platform that introduces and provides visibility to the winners through an important exhibition event.

Curatorial coordination of the Award by Gigliola Foschi, MIA Photo Fair.

Edition 2020 CLOSED

The Final Jury is composed by Gigliola Foschi (curator, professor, member of the Scientific Committee of MIA Photo Fair), Gabi Scardi (contemporary art critic and curator at International level, artistic director of Nctm e l’arte project), Paolo Agliardi (architect, collector, founder of CAP contemporary art projects), Carlo Sala (curator, professor, artistic director of Festival Photo Open Up and member of the curatorial committee of Fondazione Francesco Fabbri Onlus), Giorgio Zanchetti (art historian, professor, curator, member of the Board of Directors of Museo di Fotografia Contemporanea MUFOCO).

Silvia Bigi 

Oscar Brum Ramirez 

Giancarlo Dell’Antonia 

Elena Franco

Luca Gilli

Marco Guenzi 

Maria Chiara Maffi 

Occhio Magico

Giulia Maiorano 

Oriella Montin 

Mauro Pinotti 

Giovanni Presutti 

Patrizia Riviera

Carolina Sandretto

Alessandro Toscano

Considering the wide participation of 160 applications received and the quality of the projects, the Jury extended from 8 to 15 the number of winning artists.

We want to thank you all the people who applied for the First Edition of New-Post Photography? Award


Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Consent to display content from Youtube
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google